Culpeper’s Jake Dudley (sliding) was named the Region 3B player of the year.

Culpeper’s Jake Dudley was named the Region 3B baseball player of the year when the all-region voting was announced on Monday evening.

Dudley, a senior third baseman, batted .431 with a 1.344 OPS, seven doubles, two triples, five home runs and 17 RBIs this season. He led a Blue Devils team that lost nine of its first 10 games this spring to the Region 3B semifinals, where they lost 4-3 to Class 3 state quarterfinalist Warren County. Culpeper’s late-season run included a 5-3 victory over defending Class 3 state champion Spotsylvania in the regional quarterfinals—a game in which Dudley earned a six-out save on the mound and had a double, a triple and two RBIs at the plate.

“It feels great to earn these accolades knowing that this was my last year at [Culpeper],” said Dudley, who will play for Harford Community College (MD) next season. “I wanted to go out with a bang and I was blessed to be able to do so. I felt like I struggled a little bit early in the year, but I worked hard to figure it all out, caught fire in the middle of the season and didn’t look back.”

“People got a glimpse of what [Dudley} can actually be this season,” Culpeper head coach Brandon Mack said. “At the plate, nobody wants any part of him.”

Dudley was joined on the all-region team by junior teammate Eric Wilson, who made the second team as both a pitcher and a position player.

Region 3B champion and Class 3 state semifinalist Brentsville was well represented on the team, as senior Jake DeLisi and junior Vince DiMauro were selected as co-pitchers of the year. Senior first baseman Collin Reid and senior outfielder Luke Binsted also made the first team for the Tigers, while head coach Brian Knight earned coach of the year accolades.

Senior outfielders Justin Hairfield and Alex Seymour, sophomore second baseman Mickey Haynes and senior Billy Hoad all made the second team for Brentsville, as did DeLisi as a shortstop.

Region runner-up Warren County had the most first-team selections of any school, with five. Senior catcher Ronnie Dodson, senior outfielder Dylan Johnson, senior Jackson Arnold and sophomore shortstop Bryce Post each made the cut. Arnold was selected twice—once as an outfielder and once as a pitcher.

The Wildcats’ Joey Sorge made the second team as a pitcher.

The remainder of the first team consisted of senior second baseman Braydon Collier, senior outfielder Alex Kinsey, senior pitcher Reilly Owen and sophomore designated hitter Hunter Powell from William Monroe and senior utility man Trevor Croson from Spotsylvania.

The rest of the second team was third baseman Powell, senior catcher Jonathan Sexton and junior pitcher Lance Tate from William Monroe; Spotsylvania’s Croson at pitcher and Brian Baker at first base; junior designated hitter Tyler Hugo from Skyline and senior outfielder Damian Diaz of John Marshall.

Get the latest news in our Headlines newsletter in your inbox each day with the top stories.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you