Culpeper’s Joseph Davis (5) was named Region 4B defensive player of the year.

Several players from Culpeper, Eastern View, Fauquier, Kettle Run and Liberty-Bealeton were named to the All-Region 4B boys and girls lacrosse teams earlier this week.

On the boys’ side, Kettle Run junior attacker Jimmy Dooley garnered region player of the year honors, while head coach Blake Smith was named coach of the year.

Dooley and Smith’s honors were just the tip of the iceberg for the Falcons, who were well-represented on both the first and second teams.

Senior attacker Braeden Allen, junior midfielder Ashton Short, senior midfielder Jack Kroll and senior defenders Nate Shaffer and Sean Kennedy each made the first team for Kettle Run. Sophomore attacker Joey Shull, junior midfielder Ian Sekelsky, senior midfielder Ethan Jakum, junior defenders Connor Gladstone and Nick Lehman and junior goalkeeper Peter Smith all earned second-team honors.

Kettle Run (15-2) has clinched a berth in the Class 4 state tournament and will host Fauquier (10-4) in Thursday’s Region 4B championship game.

Fauquier attackers Nathan Robery and Chris Chelsey, midfielder Shane O’Hara and defender Logan Railey all made the first team. Attacker Ryan Kavounis was named to the second team.

Culpeper, which lost to Fauquier in the regional semifinals on Monday, had the region’s defensive player of the year in senior goalkeeper Joseph Davis. Classmate George Moseley also made the first team as a midfielder.

Senior attacker Nate Pettyjohn, sophomore defender Riley Harrison and senior defender Micah Young each earned second-team recognition.

Three Liberty players received honors, with sophomore defender Keegan Shipe making the first team and senior attacker Trey Keys and senior midfielder Jake Waldo both landing on the second team.

Eastern View sophomore defender Ronta Robinson earned a spot on the first team, while junior midfielder Eli Reaves made the second team.

Liberty senior defender Jada Milton took home defensive player of the year honors on the girls team. She was joined on the first team by sophomore attacker Gretchen Thomas and senior midfielder Kaila Lacey.

Junior attacker Mallie Lanier and sophomore goalkeeper Emily Markley were second-team honorees for the Eagles.

Fauquier had a total of seven players honored, paced by senior defender Abbi Findley and senior goalkeeper Gillian Fanning on the first team. Junior attacker Sarala Grayson-Funk, senior midfielder Payton O’Hara, sophomore midfielder Abby McCusker, senior defender Madi Filson and junior defender Zoe Savage all made the second team.

Eastern View senior attacker Morgan Tricarico and senior defender Logan Stockton made the first team, as did junior midfielder Christine Fettig.  Senior Emma Welborn was named to the second team as a defender.

Senior attacker Grace Small was the lone first-team selection for Kettle Run. Classmate Samantha Muma made the second unit as a defender.

Get the latest news in our Headlines newsletter in your inbox each day with the top stories.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you