Hatfield (copy) (copy)

The Cyclones’ Sarah Hatfield (center) advances the ball downfield during a game against Chancellor on October 17.

Eastern View senior Sarah Hatfield was one of eight Cyclones who received all-Battlefield District recognition when the district announced its postseason honors on Monday night.

Hatfield, who eclipsed the 100-goal milestone in her career earlier this season, is Eastern View’s all-time leading scorer. She led the third-seeded Cyclones to a 2-0 victory over No. 2 seed Chancellor in last Saturday’s district semifinals, and they fell just short of winning the district title in a 3-2 loss to No. 1 James Monroe at Maury Stadium on Monday evening.

Joining Hatfield on the all-district first team is fellow senior forward Cassidy Morrison. Morrison scored a goal in each of Eastern View’s district tournament games.

Senior midfielder Augusta Bailey, senior defender Cassidy Armstrong, junior goalie Alanna Barrett and sophomore forward Mia Hutchinson all made the second team.

Junior defender Analeigh Page and sophomore defender Ava Durrer each received honorable mention.

Eastern View (13-5) will host a Region 4B quarterfinal game on Tuesday, November 5 against either Caroline or Courtland.

The district named Chancellor midfielder Emma Bernard and JM midfielder Zoe Tierney, both seniors, as co-players of the year. Like Hatfield, Bernard also topped the 100-goal mark this year. She is also the reigning Class 4 state player of the year.

Chancellor’s Jim Larkin and JM’s Erin Cunningham were co-coaches of the year.

The Chargers and Yellow Jackets were both well-represented on the all-district teams. Chancellor (13-4) placed a district-high six players on the first team and had a total of seven players honored, while JM (17-3) saw four of its players make the first team and six more land on the second team on the way to a district-best 11 honorees.

The full list of honorees is as follows:

Co-players of the year: Emma Bernard (Ch); Zoe Tierney (JM).

Co-coaches of the year: Jim Larkin (Ch); Erin Cunningham (JM).


F--Winny Hall (JM), Kaitlyn Bestick (Ch), Sarah Hatfield (EV), Cassidy Morrison (EV), Ella Newman (Ch). MF--Emma Bernard (Ch), Zoe Tierney (JM), Sarah Rigual (JM), Madison Shea (Ct), Grace Mahon (Ct). D--Kylee Tuebner (Ch), Maddie Tierney (JM), Grace Sprinkle (Ct), Izzy Gregory (Ch), Addison Lowman (Ct). GK--Regan Bestick (Ch), Carter Sprinkle (Ct).


F--Caroline Slick (Ct), Ginny Beringer (JM), Grace Maynard (JM), Markhiah Coleman (Ct), Claire Brady (JM), Jordan Delaney (Sp). MF--Mia Hutchinson (EV), Augusta Bailey (EV), Kelsey Reviello (JM), Malorie Bettis (Sp), Keira Lipinski (KG). D--Celie Constantine (JM), Erin Dameron (Ch), Cassidy Armstrong (EV), Grace Marchosky (JM), Atlee Thompson (Ct). GK--Alanna Barrett (EV).


F--Kenzie Conroy (KG), Madalyn Smith (Ca), Lili Smith (Ca), Kaitlyn Johnson (Ca). MF--Litzy Ramos (Ca), Jayla Hill (Ca), Cameron Smith (Ca). D--Karsyn Newton (KG), Ava Durrer (EV), Analeigh Page (EV), Isabella Silva (Ca), Kylie Dunaway (Ca), Natalie Buchanan (Sp). GK--Sam Black (JM), Codi Dudley (Ca), Kallie Buchanan (Sp).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.